The Armistice Memorial
The Armistice clearing, a quiet place in the heart of the forest de Compiègne, entered history on the night of November 10, 1918. It thus symbolized in the eyes of the whole world the end of the hostilities of the Great War and the end of four years of a terrible conflict which left more than 18 million dead , mutilated or disabled. The wagon, an essential object of this place of memory, now occupies the center of a museum.
On June 22, 1940, Hitler, wanting to humiliate France, chose this same place to sign the second armistice, much darker, consecrating the Nazi victory.
At the end of the Great War, fields strewn with soldiers who had died in combat and temporary cemeteries punctuated the land of the Isaria. Over the years and in many municipalities, necropolises have been created to bring together the scattered graves, and to bury with dignity these soldiers who died on the battlefields and thus honor their memory.
The Crown Prince's Shelter
This command post, built by the German army between 1915 and 1916 with stones from the houses of the village of Nampcel, was intended to house a regimental headquarters. Its location on the opposite slope was ideal to protect it from French shells...
The Deportation wagon
A place of remembrance of the Second World War, the site traces the departure of 45 prisoners from the Royallieu camp in Compiègne to the “death camps”.
The Internment and Deportation Memorial
The Internment and Deportation Memorial was one of the most important transit camps: from there 45 internees left to be deported to the Nazi camps.
Journey of the deportees
Between 1942 and 1944, more than 42 deportees walked the streets de Compiègne. The latter had a very specific forced route from the station to reach the Royallieu camp. It is now possible to discover this path, marked by 150 bronze nails, and to walk in the footsteps of this past.